upcoming

BENEVOLENCE

Art credit: Keely O'Brien

An English language premiere production from Ruby Slippers Theatre of a Governor General’s award winning play.
by Fanny Britt – Translated by Leanna Brodie.

Directed by Diane Brown

Preview SEP 29, Shows SEP 30 – OCT 15, 2022

Pacific Theatre
(1440 W 12th Avenue)

Pacific Theatre’s Box Office: 604.731.5518

Gilles Jean, big-time lawyer, returns to his hometown of Benevolence to try a troubling case involving the child of an old friend. But with the ghosts of his deceased brothers and father peering over his shoulder, and his mother asking after the state of his soul, homecoming is no easy thing. This pitch-black comedy (presented in a new English translation) offers a surreal reflection on our small cowardices and our great contradictions.

Performance Schedule

Thursday Sept. 29, PREVIEW 8 pm
Friday Sept. 30, OPEN 8 pm
Saturday Oct. 1, 2 pm and 8 pm
Wednesday Oct. 5, 8 pm
Thursday Oct. 6, 8 pm
Friday Oct. 7, 8 pm
Saturday Oct. 8, 2 pm and 8 pm
Sunday Oct. 9, 3 pm
Wednesday Oct. 12, 8 pm
Thursday Oct. 13, 8 pm
Friday Oct. 14, 8 pm
Saturday Oct. 15, 2 pm and 8 pm

Directed by Diane Brown. Featuring Charlie Gallant, Chris Lam, Paul Moniz de Sá, Stephanie Wong, and Beatrice Zeilinger. Sound Design by Rick Colhoun. Set and Lighting Design by John Webber. Costume Design by Jessica Oostergo. Properties by Monica Emme. Stage Management by Nico Dicecco.
Assistant Stage Management by Dayna Horn. Technical Direction by Daniel O’Shea.

English language translation commissioned by Ruby Slippers Theatre.